Create & Cultivate: NYC Conference

I found this event when I originally created my twitter, I was looking for other sites to follow & found this cute website where they had a TON of positive and up lifting blogs. This immediately caught my attention, while exploring their site I saw that they had conferences for bloggers… Not only did it include other fashion or lifestyle bloggers but brands and any one interested in this type of field could attend. Luck was on my side when I found out they were preparing an event in NYC! I immediately got my ticket when they went on sale. The main event was going to take place on Saturday, May 6th and there would also be a cocktail hour on Friday, May 5th. I had to attend both since this was in my New York backyard after all.


Friday’s outfit:


When I heard cocktail hour I wasn’t too sure if I originally wanted to go. The following day was going to be a long day and beauty sleep was a priority. Last minute when I saw the space they were going to have it in I decided to go. I wanted my outfit to reflect how beautiful the space was and it was a cocktail hour after all, why not go with a cocktail dress? When I got there I realized how overdressed I was! Standing out from the crowd is what I like to do best any way, so it worked its way out. I met a few other bloggers that night & everyone was super sweet. My goal for the night was to have fun, which I definitely did! Being awkward and shy is also a huge thing for me, I wasn’t able to snag a picture of my full outfit from head to toe but here are 2 awkward photos of my dress ๐Ÿ™‚

Outfit Details…

Satuday’s Outfit:


This outfit was plotted for MONTHS! MONTHS I TELL YOU! Knowing that this was going to be an all day event (8AM to 8PM) comfort was my #1 priority. I found this top on ASOS and fell in love. It was different and incorporated the off the shoulder trend I had been seeing. It was also very ruffly which is crazy in trend as well. If I was going to go over the top for a top, this was it. My accessories were a way for me to bring in some color to my white top… Bauble bar was the way to go. I chose the blue tassel earrings for 2 reasons: 1. it is my favorite color and 2. because the New York Rangers were playing and I was supporting them from Queens with the lack of a TV to watch them (they lost but that’s another story). Adding even more color but still keeping it simple I chose this really awesome colorful bracelet. It was the subtle hint of a confetti of colors that I was looking for. My detail even went to my makeup, inspired by Christen Dominique from Instagram I chose to add some bright purple as my under eye liner.. this also made my hazel eye’s really pop. With a hint of pink lipstick I was ready to go.


I will talk about what I took away from the entire event in another post but I need to take a minute, or a paragraph, to tell you the most amazing part of my experience there. I had the pleasure to meet and listen to Arielle from Somethingnavy. She is one of the first bloggers I began to follow years ago! I never knew much about fashion bloggers nor did I understand how the entire deal worked but I absolutely loved following her instagram. All of her outfits are and continue to be amazing, and even affordable at times – she pairs some high end designers with her looks. Constantly am I looking at her instagram for inspiration, motivation and even just a reminder that she too has some struggles but doesn’t let it stop her. Watching her instastory and even following her on snap chat I was able t see the behind the scenes life she was living. What an inspiration she is to all bloggers around, from the ground up she has built this into a business and to think it all stemmed from her going through a bad break up that she even decided to create the blog in the first place. Being relatable is something she strongly makes sure her readers and followers feel, and as a follower and reader I sense it immediately. Especially when I met her, she gave me a hug and complimented my hair (which was having a total frizz ball moment). She was so humble and so kind and sweet and waited to take pictures and talk to any one that wanted to meet her. If she ever reads this, which I hope she’ll find in her million likes and comments, I just want her to know how inspiring she is. I cannot wait for her clothing line to come out in the fall & I hope that I am able to get it all before it sells out.


Outfit details…

Accessory details…

Stay tuned for another post as to what I’ve learned and what I saw ๐Ÿ˜‰

xx Sarah

image-5

One thought on “Create & Cultivate: NYC Conference

Leave a Reply

