Catching up… Repeat Offender

The month of December can easily become the never ending list of things to do. From holiday shopping to holiday parties and preparing for the end of the year celebrations, it is like the energizer bunny. And that is exactly what had happened to me. Being a bit of a procrastinator can be a good and bad thing, the positive side was I didn’t miss any posts that I had planned for the month… but the downfall is that I lacked the time to prepare for the first of the year. Working a full time job and running my blog can be a lot to juggle, any blogger who works full time will tell you that. My blog isn’t a burden to me what so ever, I get more disappointed that I have no time to share my creativity on here because it is something I truly enjoy doing. So since my weekends are normally filled with styling outfits, taking pictures, editing and writing .. the holidays put a halt on that. Christmas Eve and Christmas Day fell on the weekend, although it was strange not doing anything for my blog that weekend it felt really nice to spend time with my family. Even my Christmas gifts were in reference to my blog! Sometimes I wonder if any one reads this thing, I know some do but I understand that life happens and you can’t read every bit of my sometimes lengthy posts.. like this one.

I don’t want to get too much into what I received for Christmas (since I want to use some of them for posts on here) but I will tell you one of my favorite gifts of all. My brother doesn’t read my blog (that I am aware of) so his gift was probably the most surprising of all. Opal is my birthstone and it is so different from all of the other birthstones. From afar it may look almost like a white stone but it has a rainbow crystal look up close. Since I had first gotten my ears pierced (at the lovely age of 7) I fell in love with this stone. It was different, like me. I can’t tell you how long I had these earrings, but I had them in my possession forever it seemed. Unfortunately one day the post broke off, I was devastated. Another pair of opal earrings I had owned I was terrified to wear, the stone was knocked out during a haircut. Luckily I was able to place the stone back in but I hadn’t really worn them since (besides not liking the pear shape they came in). Having another pair of opal earrings was something I really wanted because I knew I would wear them every day… and jewelry isn’t something I ever cheap out on. I purchased myself a pair of diamond earrings because I am woman hear me roar & I don’t need a boyfriend to do so #independentwoman #girlsruntheworld After awhile I had completely forgotten about this and tried to fill my void with other fake earrings, that I couldn’t even wear for a long period of time without my ears turning green. So on Christmas morning I was looking forward to getting my Christmas chocolate in my stocking like I do every year. At the very bottom of my stocking was a tiny box that said “SISTER” on it. When I opened it up and saw these earrings I was floored. I couldn’t believe he got me new earrings! It was such a sentimental gift, especially from my little brother. The relationship I have with my brother is the typical older sister and little brother bickering… we communicate mostly by making fun of each other. So during the holidays it is the one time we put the bickering aside for just one day. Normally he knows to get me something related to the New York Rangers so this was a real surprise for me on Christmas morning. Who knew little brothers could be so sweet? 

Since this is a fashion/beauty blog, I can’t not talk about fashion…. when the above 2 paragraphs had nothing to do with fashion. But they were leading up to this I swear! The title of this post is about being a repeat offender.We all have those outfits that we really favor, I don’t care about being a fashion repeat offender. Kate Middleton does it all the time. Ok maybe not as often as I do but I am not technically a royal princess. In my own world I am.. where every one is happy with pizza and puppies. Point is, if you like the outfit. WEAR IT DAMNIT!

My Christmas Holiday Party look. In the beginning of the month I attended what my friends from college have named “A Horrible Christmas Brunch” or “Christmustache.” The boys go with the later name, but being a girl I can’t participate in how they do. We meet up for brunch and then bar hop for the rest of the day and into the night. The residents of Park Slope haven’t hated us too much yet. Last year I was unable to attend as I was away in California visiting my best friend. It is not a day I like to miss out on. Now that you understand what we do during this party, you will understand my attire. I wanted to keep it casual, yet a little festive. Wearing winter whites is my new thing this year, it is risky (especially with this crew). I took the chance any way. My outerwear was rather questionable, but I hate having a large coat with me while at the bars. Since I loved this outfit so much, I decided to wear it to my Christmas Lunch for work too.

Tradition continues, those who cannot attend will be the face of the Lama on my friend Tom’s shirt.

If you are wondering where he got this amazing sweater, it is from Target

Outfit details:


Christmas: I couldn’t get a full head to toe look on Christmas Day because my little cousins immediately dragged me to show me all of their new Christmas presents and to watch the shows their American Girl dolls would be performing. I must say this top got double the wear within the last 2 weekends of the year. Not only did I wear this top on Christmas Day but I also wore it on New Years Eve. If it looks familiar, it is from my Black Friday Haul. To make an extremely long story short: I ordered this on Black Friday, 2-3 weeks later my package still hadn’t arrived, contacted Missguided: YOUR PACKAGE IS LOST. Me: LOST?! WHAT DO YOU MEAN LOST?! Missguided: “its ok we’ll fix it”, they sent my items overnighted without any extra charges & honored their Black Friday prices, got my items a few days later, happiness.
For Christmas, I wore this top with my new favorite Express Mid Rise Jeans and Suede Sandals. It was 60 degrees out on Christmas in New York. I’m still shocked too… With a nice cat eye (which took me 20 minutes to do!) and a red lip, it was a fun classic make up look with my new gold top.

Outfit Details…

I loved this top so much I included it in my “overnight bag” while visiting my best friend in her new apartment. She shops in my closet so I had to bring 100 options with me. My new overnight bag broke about 100 feet from my car #chronicoverpacker I was really looking forward to wearing my custom shirt that my cousin had made. What I had forgotten is that I folded it in my bag. WRONG MOVE. When I took it out the bottom line had started to lift, it made me very sad. She had just moved in and we couldn’t find her iron… I couldn’t bear to think of ruining the entire shirt so I did not wear it. Instead, I wore the same awesome gold crushed satin top from Missguided. I kept the same makeup look from the pictures that I took because I enjoy looking like a raccoon. One bad ass raccoon.


Outfit Details…

My Best friend’s Outfit details may look familiar….

Now as I have stated that I normally do blogging on the weekends, so here are my excuses why there will only be a few posts this week….

  1. the holidays were on the weekend and I can only take pictures on the weekend. Why?
    1. by the time I get home from work the sun is down
    2. Weather
    3. Lack nice lighting inside/ don’t own “studio lighting”
  2. my only day off this week, the weather decided to be weather
    1. it rained.
    2. I take my own pictures (a majority of the time) so using a tripod in the rain isn’t something I feel comfortable with
  3. I refuse to put half ass quality blog posts – Brooke from the Notebrooke spoke about this and I really agree with her on this one. I don’t want to put out a post just to put out a post. or even do it for the gram.

Stay tuned for more new looks this year! I’m really excited for the new things to come and have a full 365 on this blog!!

xx Sarah

image-5

1477459437_social__facebook   1477459438_social__instagram    1477459441_social__twitter    b-large

Leave a Reply

