Black Friday Online Haul

I hope after a nice 4 day weekend everyone is adjusting to the swing of things. A long holiday weekend filled with non-stop eating and socializing and shopping we all feel like we need a break from things. Can’t stop now though, not with the holidays right around the corner! Previously I have posted about how to get your black belt in shopping on a black Friday. I truly hope this helped some of you when it came to shopping. This year I decided to go on a different route when it came to shopping, staying at home in bed and all of my shopping was completed online. Last year I did venture to the stores after my holiday dinner, luckily I had Thanksgiving at my house so I didn’t have to worry about the long travels home and then to the stores. What I discovered is that most of the stores begin their “Black Friday Sales” on Thanksgiving, so there is no need to wake up at the crack of dawn or in the middle of the night to head to the stores. This worked out in my benefit because I was able to quickly get what I needed and leave before the insane crowd of people arrived to cash in on these sales.

This year after my family left, I jumped on my laptop to see if there was anything left in the wish lists that I had created the weekend prior. Unfortunately, half of the items I was lusting after were no longer in my size or completely sold out. My bank account rejoiced with this news… I on the other hand was disappointed & saddened but realized that there were no need for half of the clothing items I wanted.. I mean how often was I going to wear a royal blue suede jacket? Probably once. On the positive side there tends to always be a sale during the holidays so IF some of these items were to come back in stock (like this beautiful black suede and faux fur jacket from ASOS) then I may consider it a sign from the shopping gods to purchase it… but let’s talk about what I DID purchase.

The great thing about shopping online is that I had multiple tabs open after adding everything to the carts so I can compare what I was buying. Sometimes you don’t realize that you gravitate towards similar colors or styles. With Express I knew that I wanted to buy a ton of sweaters that I could wear to work and I desperately needed a couple pair of jeans to hold me over until I can buy a nicer pair or 2 or 3. We all go through a point in our lives where our body shape changes, for me personally it was from all of the “excessive partying” lifestyle. After a bit of a health wake up call I was forced to change my “partying lifestyle” ways to a healthier one. What hadn’t changed is that I am a shopping addict. So after purchasing MANY stretchy jeans, none of them fit me. That’s the unfortunate part of those types of jeans, they stretch out but never stretch back in… so I have to have a few pairs to hold me over until I can buy at least 2 nice pairs (at a discount of course 😉 )

Most of the sweaters I got I wanted to be able to wear for multiple occasions, who doesn’t want multiple looks out of one item? I know I do. My main goal was a balance of casual and dressy items. Since I also recently purchased an all white outfit, I decided this winter I wanted to wear some more lighter shades rather than my gothic Wednesday Addams go to look. Missguided was having a sale that was 50%! I pinned this gold off the shoulder top a few months ago and decided this had to be one of my holiday looks. Luckily it was in stock and in my size. The Dynamite off the shoulder look is some what similar but longer sleeved, a girl needs options! These looks I can wear all throughout the winter and show off the metallic trend for the winter. A win, win in my book.

Adding a little bit more color into my wardrobe is a challenge, I’ll admit. Since pink/blush tones are a trend for the fall/winter I wanted to slowly dip my toes into this trend. In my Quick post: Turkey Day outfits I suggested this sweater as an option for a holiday look, now I wouldn’t recommend anything that I wouldn’t wear myself. The more I thought about it, the more I liked it… stay tuned for how I feel about wearing pink rather than white or black. Missguided also had a cool graphic shirt that had part of LA & NY on it, I have a secret love for California… truly I do. Last spring I really didn’t feel like coming home while visiting there because who doesn’t love sunshine every single day?!

Now onto the classic slip dress. I’m pretty sure this isn’t something that you are suppose to wear out in public but I don’t really care. I’m not one to follow the “fashion rules.” If I like it, I’ll wear it….. and Shay Mitchell posted this in her winter look book (which you can watch all of its awesomness here). I’m really excited to create a look with this and see how many looks I can get out of it. During the spring/summer months I love wearing dresses and rompers because I don’t like wearing pants. It is so freeing not wearing any pants. During the winter I become a person with so many layers because IT IS BRICK outside. So I’ve decided to challenge myself on wearing dresses in the winter.. stay tuned for the posts where I let you know if I turned purple or blue from it.

Below are the links to all of the items that I purchased. Any one get any major deals or purchase an item that they have been lusting for that went on sale? I’d love to know! Leave your thoughts below in the comments!

slide1

  1. Missguided crushed satin bardot blouse gold
  2. Urban Outfitters Slip Dress
  3. Dynamite Mixed Fabric Sweater – Pink
  4. Express Side Zip Hi-Lo Hem Crew Neck Sweater
  5. Express Fitted Crew Neck Sweater – Deep Violet
  6. Missguided contrast sleeve cold shoulder tunic white
  7. Dynamite Satin Off the Shoulder Blouse
  8. Express Black Mid Rise Jean Legging
  9. Express Crew Neck Shaker Knit Sweater – Soft Ivory
  10. Express Solid Dark Mid Rise Jean Leggings
  11. Missguided black spliced city of new york print t shirt

 

Lastly, my most expensive purchase was my new camera! This was a serious splurge and a major investment. It isn’t the first time I have considered buying a DSLR camera, when I was in college I really found a love for photography.. Mostly it would be during family events and I had a lot of fun doing it. My little cousins were my main focus and now their parents have at least 500 photos or more of them because of my constant snapping. Now that I have a very good reason (my blog) it is worth having. If you recall my tip for comparing your items, this can become confusing. And it did. What I thought I was ordering was actually the Canon Rebel t5 and not the Canon Rebel t5i. Ironically I noticed this hiccup 2 days later… when I was writing this post…

Operation Dumbass:


Since I now realized why people go to the STORE to PURCHASE ELECTRONICS, I have learned my lesson. If I would have gone to Best Buy I could have easily avoided this entire debacle… but it wouldn’t be me if there weren’t some type of hilarious stupid moment. In a complete panic I call the store to find out when the sale ends, which was Saturday. I ordered my camera on Thursday night… the camera won’t be delivered until the follow week. CRAP. Calling my friend in a panic I ask if she will come with me to keep me calm as I rush to Best Buy to get the camera I REALLY wanted… they claimed to have 3 available in stores. Well. I get there. And they do not. Son of a biscuit eating bull dog.

THIS. CAN’T. BE. HAPPENING!


I explained my dumbass-ery to the sales associate/really awesome dude and he totally understood my situation. He even checked the storage room to make sure they didn’t have any in stock. And they still didn’t. Instead of letting me leave the store all upset he told me to order it with them and he would wave the shipping for me. AWESOME. But he wasn’t done just yet with the sale.. he made sure it was 1 day shipping. Legend – WAIT FOR IT – DARY. LEGENDARY! THANK YOU BEST BUY FOR HELPING ME WITH MY DUMBASS PURCHASING MISHAP. Working in customer service can be tough, and it is something I completely understand. I knew he was only doing his job by giving me the let down information and I didn’t dare take it out on him, I only inquired if I should purchase it online myself or if it would be easier in store. He assured me that by purchasing it through the store I would get it faster and if I ordered it online I wouldn’t get my beautiful camera until mid-December. Operation Dumbass ended successfully in my book. Lesson for all of you: GO TO THE STORE!
Canon - EOS Rebel T5i DSLR Camera.png

Special thanks to my friend Alison for accompanying me on Operation Dumbass, your calming presence was much needed as was your laughter. Huge thanks to Best Buy, your employees really go above & beyond for their customers… and for laughing with me that tryptophan is dangerous when shopping online. You guys are great! 

xx Sarah

image-5

1477459437_social__facebook   1477459438_social__instagram    1477459441_social__twitter    b-large

2 thoughts on “Black Friday Online Haul

Leave a Reply

